The Six Principles of Harmony

The Three Conditions are the basis for individual cultivation whereas the Six Principles of Harmony are the basis for group cultivation. The sangha is a group of four or more people who properly practice the Buddha’s teachings together, especially the Six Principles of Harmony. They are:

  1. Sharing the same viewpoints or goals,
  2. Abiding by the same precepts,
  3. Living and practicing together harmoniously,
  4. Not quarreling,
  5. Experiencing the inner peace and happiness from practicing together harmoniously and
  6. Sharing benefits harmoniously.